
Last updated: 26 October 2026. Plans described here have not been confirmed in detail by the company, so check for official announcements.
Shoprite, once one of the most visible supermarket brands in Nigerian malls, is back in the news. Following a period of closures and a temporary shutdown, an investor in the business says the chain plans to open smaller standalone stores in residential areas. The Shoprite Nigeria neighbourhood stores plan is meant to cut costs and give the business a more stable footing.
This guide sets out what was said, who said it, how the business reached this point, and which questions remain unanswered.
Who is speaking? The plan comes from Adekunle Adebiyi, Executive Director, Investments at MBO Capital Management, who spoke on Nairametrics’ Drinks and Mics programme on 23 October 2026. ThisDay and Legit.ng describe him as an investor in the chain; Nairametrics describes MBO Capital as one of the advisers to the acquisition. He is not a company spokesperson, and the reports we reviewed include no new statement from the operator, Retail Supermarkets Nigeria Limited (RSNL).
The Shoprite Nigeria neighbourhood stores plan at a glance
| Topic | What was reported |
|---|---|
| New format | Standalone neighbourhood supermarkets, rather than mainly large malls; the investor says this was always the plan |
| Shutdown | Operations were temporarily shut to negotiate with suppliers and settle obligations |
| Reopened so far | Three outlets, according to the investor |
| Number of new stores | Not disclosed |
| Locations | Not disclosed |
| Start date | Not disclosed |
Why smaller stores?
A supermarket normally rents its premises and spends its money on fittings such as shelving and refrigeration. Lower rent and a smaller footprint would let the business put more of its capital into trading rather than property. The investor argues that standalone stores should lower operating costs for this reason.
Financing is part of the story too. Lenders in Nigeria usually want tangible collateral, and a leasing-based retailer has few physical assets to offer, even when it earns billions of naira in revenue. Mr Adebiyi said this made bank funding difficult during the acquisition, and that the investors used alternative arrangements, which the reports do not describe.
What went wrong: costs and systems
Dollar-linked rents
According to the investor, about 17 of the retailer’s 28 stores had dollar-denominated leases at the time of the acquisition. As the naira weakened, those rents rose and put pressure on finances. He said rent would normally take around 8% to 10% of a supermarket’s revenue, but some Shoprite locations paid well above that. This benchmark is his own estimate, not published industry data.
Stock control and technology
He also pointed to weak inventory management and to the loss of access to the enterprise resource planning (ERP) system that the former parent company had supplied. Replacing it cost billions of naira, which diverted money from other parts of the business. The reports do not give exact amounts.
The wider picture
Other reports in 2025 described a business under strain. In September 2025, the operator called the situation “a reset”, not a collapse, and cited exchange-rate swings, inflation and tight liquidity. In October 2025, Premium Times reported bare or half-stocked shelves at several stores and complaints about unpaid suppliers. Those supplier claims were not independently verified.

How Shoprite got here: a short timeline
| When | What happened |
|---|---|
| June 2021 | Shoprite’s South African parent sells its Nigerian business to Ketron Investment Limited, owned by institutional investors led by Persianas Investment Limited. RSNL runs the stores under a franchise arrangement. |
| January 2024 | The Kano branch closes (reported by Premium Times) |
| June 2024 | The store at Novare Central Mall, Wuse, Abuja closes, citing operating costs |
| August 2025 | A phased restructuring begins, according to the company |
| September 2025 | The operator denies it is leaving and calls the situation a reset |
| March 2026 | The company says it is restructuring, not exiting Nigeria; it reports about 23 stores across 14 states and plans outlets at The Palms and Circle Mall in Lagos |
| 23 October 2026 | An investor says operations were temporarily shut, three outlets have reopened, and neighbourhood stores are planned |
What cannot be confirmed yet
Several details of the Shoprite Nigeria neighbourhood stores plan are still unclear.
- How much closed, and for how long. The investor said “everything” was shut, but no report gives the number of stores closed, the dates, or the current store count.
- The store numbers do not line up. The investor’s “28 stores” at acquisition compares with 25 outlets reported at the 2021 sale and about 23 in March 2026. He may be counting at a different moment.
- Malls or neighbourhoods? Earlier company plans included mall sites such as The Palms and Circle Mall, while the investor says the focus is standalone stores. The reports do not reconcile the two.
- Who owns what. The reports use “Shoprite Nigeria” and “Retail Supermarkets Nigeria Limited” interchangeably, and MBO Capital’s exact stake is not explained.

What to watch next
These signs will show whether the Shoprite Nigeria neighbourhood stores plan is becoming real.
- An official statement from Retail Supermarkets Nigeria Limited with store numbers, locations and dates.
- Whether the three reopened outlets are joined by more.
- Whether supplier payments and shelf stocking improve.
- Any change to the franchise or ownership arrangements.
Frequently asked questions
What are the Shoprite Nigeria neighbourhood stores?
They are smaller standalone supermarkets in residential areas that an investor says the chain plans to open instead of relying mainly on large malls. The number, locations and timing have not been disclosed.
Has Shoprite left Nigeria?
No, according to the operator. In September 2025 and again in March 2026, Retail Supermarkets Nigeria Limited said it was restructuring and not leaving. In October 2026 an investor said three outlets have reopened after a temporary shutdown.
Why did Shoprite Nigeria shut stores?
The investor cites dollar-linked rents, a weaker naira, weak inventory management, the cost of replacing an ERP system, and difficulty obtaining bank financing. Earlier company statements pointed to exchange-rate swings, inflation and tight liquidity.
Who owns Shoprite in Nigeria?
The business was sold in 2021 to Ketron Investment Limited, owned by investors led by Persianas Investment Limited. Retail Supermarkets Nigeria Limited operates the stores under a franchise arrangement.
How many Shoprite stores are open in Nigeria now?
No current count has been published. The company reported about 23 stores across 14 states in March 2026, and an investor says three outlets have reopened since the shutdown.
When will the new stores open?
No date has been announced.
Conclusion
The Shoprite Nigeria neighbourhood stores plan is, for now, an investor’s description of a direction, not a published roadmap. It addresses real pressures: rent, financing and running costs. But key facts, such as how many stores will open, where, and when, are still missing. Readers, shoppers and suppliers should treat the plan as promising but unconfirmed until the operator publishes details.
Sources and further reading
- Legit.ng: Shoprite makes fresh move to revive Nigerian business (25 October 2026)
- Nairametrics: Shoprite Nigeria to open neighbourhood stores, moves away from mall-based expansion (24 October 2026)
- ThisDay: Shoprite set to open neighbourhood stores after shutdown (25 October 2026)
- Nairametrics: Shoprite says it is restructuring, not leaving Nigeria (13 March 2026)
- The Guardian Nigeria: Shoprite vows to stay in Nigeria despite empty shelves, closures (19 September 2025)
- Premium Times via AllAfrica: Shoprite Nigeria struggling under new owners (22 October 2025)
- ThisDay: Shoprite new investor assures Nigerian consumers of improved services (17 June 2021)
This article gives general information based on published news reports and interviews, and it is not financial or investment advice. Plans and figures described here come mainly from one investor interview and have not been confirmed in detail by the company. Check official announcements for current information.
Leave a Reply